Iason Chalkidis

BSEC Secretary General

Dimitra Athanasa

BSEC Secretary General

Black Sea Economic Co-operation

On 25 June 1992, the Heads of State and Government of eleven countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine signed in Istanbul the Summit Declaration and the Bosporus Statement giving birth to the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC). On April 2004, the country members became 12 with the addition of Serbia and Montenegro, today commonly known as Serbia.

It was created to be unique and promising model of multilateral political and economic initiative aimed at fostering interaction, cooperation and harmony among the Member States, as well as to ensure peace, stability and prosperity encouraging friendly and good-neighbor relations in the Black Sea region.

The BSEC Headquarters – the Permanent International Secretariat of the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC PERMIS) –  are in Istanbul since March 1994.

With the entry into force of its Charter on 1 May 1999, BSEC acquired international legal identity and was transformed into a full-fledged regional economic organization: the ORGANIZATION OF THE BLACK SEA ECONOMIC COOPERATION.

This year also, BSEC celebrates its 25 years of existence and uses as its motto ‘’25 years promoting cooperation’’.


The topics to be discussed are:

Topic area A: 25 years of Black Sea Economic Cooperation: Reaffirming the legal and political framework of the BSEC member states on combating Organized Crime and Corruption.

Topic area B: BSEC Economic Agenda Towards and Enhanced BSEC Partnership: Promoting Black Sea Region’s Tourism Development.

Member States

Country Name
Albania Kotta, Maria
Armenia Georgiopoulou, Chrysa
Azerbaijan Papanikolaou, Terpsithea
Bulgaria Chrysochoidi, Paraskevi
Georgia  Thermou, Antriana
Greece Hillebrecht, Lea
Moldova Stougkioti, Efstathia
Romania Sotireli Papadopoulou, Simoni
Russia Kakava, Maria
Serbia Roussis, Konstantinos
Turkey Alexos, Antonios
Ukraine Chalkidis, Jason – CiO




Country Name
Austria Koumparopoulou, Ioanna – Varvara
Croatia  Masoura, Magdalini
European Union Grillia, Panagiota
France Salmon, Alexia- Ileana
Germany Papagiannopoulou, Lydia